Times Educational Supplement Partner badge

Film Education - Resources, Training, Events

Skip to main content

Follow us on: Twitter, Facebook RSS
Email this page to a friend

Legend of the Guardians Educational Resource

Main characters: Soren, Digger, Eglantine, Gylfie, Twilight, Kludd, Nyra, Metalbeak
Legends of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole

These pages give information on owls in flight. Read through the information and then carry out the activity.

How Owls Learn to Fly

Young owls are commonly called owlets. Nestlings is another name given to owlets that have hatched but have not yet learnt to fly and so stay in their nest.

To fledge means to leave the nest and ‘fledgling’ is the name for an owlet when it becomes capable of sustained flight. In Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole, this is called ‘branching’. Fledgling owls learn to fly with the help of their parents who show them how it’s done and then tempt them out of their nest with food. Owlets build up their wing strength and confidence by fluttering across branches but in the early stages of learning to fly they will return to their nest.

Owlets typically stay with their parents until they are able to fly and hunt confidently on their own.